Andy Wendt – Fun Technology

It's Not About Paris Hilton

Verizon Hates IP Phones – Cancels VoiceWing

Verizon VOIP No MoreI am going to guess that most of you did not even know Verizon offered a VOIP solution called VoiceWing for residential customers. I for one have never seen that guy on TV, you know the guy with glasses and like 1,000 other people standing behind him, mention anything about VOIP. In hindsight, I would have to guess those 1,000 people had nothing to do with it, because much like every other VOIP service I have ever tried, the Verizon line quality was rather poor. Perhaps it’s my internet connection, just my luck, or just the way it is. I don’t know and I don’t care.

What I do care about is that Verizon has discontinued the entire service and I know this will end up costing me more money and that’s not my idea of Fun Technology. On January 22, 2009 we received a “Dear John” letter from Verizon with the bad news. They are breaking up with me. That’s right, no more VoiceWing, no more inexpensive low quality VOIP phone and not even the common courtesy to give me a reach around, I mean suggest an alternative solution.

Click here for a copy of the Verizon VoiceWing Cancellation Letter.

From what little I can find out about the situation it appears that the problems may be related to the struggling firm with whom the service was sub-contracted. That, coupled with the obvious lack of commitment to VOIP by that guy with the glasses and his 1,000 buddies, was apparently enough to kill the program.

So my little cheap Verizon VOIP service will be no more as of March 31, 2009; but, as a parting gift, I can keep the phone number and that little box that the phone plugs into. Yeah!

P.S. Verizon guy with the glasses:
I will be dropping my Verizon cell service as soon as my contract expires and switching to AT&T. Yep that iPhone rocks!

January 27, 2009 - Posted by | Technology News, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I totally agree with the whole Voicewing thing sucked though… On the other hand I’m using an Asterisk based phone system through Fonality and I’m voip’ing back to a main server that I host. I noticed little downtime going between my home network on RoadRunner and the bonded T1’s and Fiber at the Server. But it’s not cost effective. I would just buy a standard SIP phone and plug in your information to any SIP served site.

    A good buy would be a Aastra 480CT with the portable http://www.aastra.com/cps/rde/xchg/SID-3D8CCB6A-1645A3F3/04/hs.xsl/19466.htm

    my 2 cents.

    Brian Huntsbarger

    Comment by Brian Huntsbarger | January 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.