Andy Wendt – Fun Technology

It's Not About Paris Hilton

That Blank Line At The Top Of Internet Explorer

After seeing three customers in the last month use the Google or Yahoo’s search tool in place of the Internet Explorer address line I am starting to wonder if computers are making people stupid.

From experience I long ago learned that there is no point in trying to cure some one of this ridiculous habit as they literally won’t understand the words that come out of my mouth when I try to explain it.

If you are afraid to let your mind come down to this level and are still hoping you have misunderstood what I am complaining about then sorry about your luck. I am literally talking about people who would go to Google.com and type in “http://www.myspace.com “, find that site on the results page, and then follow the link to the actual page.

If people get any dumber I would imagine that some day Microsoft would replace the address line with their own internet search bar or perhaps with some pretty advertisement that requires you to click on a monkey to win a prize. The address line could then just become an advanced option for geeks or other throwbacks to the old days when you had to understand what a website was before you could go to one.

August 22, 2007 - Posted by | Technology News, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. alot of people who go online are generally idiots… i’ve come to realize this and accept it.

    Comment by Alex Solis | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thats what that blank line is for?!?! I thought that was where you type in google.com. I was unaware that it would work for anything else. I have to thank you Andy, you have really opened my eyes.

    Comment by Khujo | August 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

