Andy Wendt – Fun Technology

It's Not About Paris Hilton

For something to be desirable it has but to be slightly out of reach.

All I want for Christmas is an 8800GT!And so it is this and every Christmas season that those things that are hard to find become for many of us an obsession. And without fail there is always that one thing that your mom, your 6 year old, or even your wife wants each Christmas that you just can’t find anywhere.

Of course from Black Friday on we are reminded of the people who stood in line for 2 days to purchase “their obsession”. We are bombarded with TV commercials, radio ads, print ads, and gossip about how great these practically unattainable things are. This of course only builds on our desire to possess these items and drives us deeper into our obsession.

This year I have learned the hard way that this problem is even worse when that one thing that is slightly out of reach is something you want, I mean NEED, for yourself, and that one thing is a new shiny 8800GT Video Card for your PC.

In this case I am bombarded with ads for video cards I don’t want to buy because I must have the 8800GT with its 112 shaders, 512mb of RAM, and single slot design. If it only had “a compass in the stock and a thing which tells time” we could remake A Christmas Story by replacing the official Red Ryder BB-Gun with an official  EVGA 8800GT KO purchased for not a penny over the suggested manufacturers retail price.

In the case of technology however there is always that voice in the back of my mind that tells me a new and better model is around the corner. This voice helps counter that little demon on my shoulder, most likely put there and being paid hourly by my credit card company, who says buy now at any cost. Though in this case the next new video card technology and it’s release date is a closely guarded secret, one must keep the faith that it is just around the corner and that prices will continue to fall.

Despite my fears of the declining value of the dollar that’s what I am telling myself, to hold tight, and by writing this article I have kept myself off the web, and for at least 30 minutes have kept my obsession under control.

However if you have any thoughts on which 8800GT or better video card you would recommend for an avid online gamer who is eager to see Call of Duty 4 and Crysis look it’s best before the first snowfall please leave me a comment.

*UPDATE – I have been running the new EVGA 8800GT now for about a week and could not be more pleased. Well with a computer part that is. But Call of Duty 4 is 100% nicer and more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this card to anyone in need of a video upgrade.

For more news on Video Cards and PC Games vist our Tech-Army Technical Forum.

November 27, 2007 - Posted by | Computer Gaming

3 Comments »

  1. Consider therapy. Games are for the content and the competition, not the ability to play at 8,000,000 x 6,000,000 resolution! Your obsession for running the best graphics is a detriment to your wallet for sure.

    Comment by Bill Rogers | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. So this time instead of little ol’ Ralphie Parker putting his eye out with a Red Ryder BB-Gun. He will put his eyes out with a mind blowing video card. I would go see that movie!

    Comment by Kyle | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. Mouth waters…the only thing better than that is the 8800GTX 768MB. Get the liquicool out because it is about to be incredibly HOT!

    Comment by bb1 | November 28, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

