Andy Wendt – Fun Technology

It's Not About Paris Hilton

MMORPG Monitors – Big is Good!

It looks so much better in real life

It looks so much better in real life

I imagine it has been about a year ago since I posted about the Dell 24″ LCD we purchased. That old post would have talked about how great Guild Wars looked and how I wished the monitor was mine. Because you see I had bought the monitor for for my wife. Now a year later my wife has somehow managed to get her old PC on that Dell 24″ and her “new” PC has worked it’s way up to the living room and found this Samsung 40″ LCD.

The Samsung 40″ LCD (A series 6 TV using the new 120Hz refresh rate) was of course purchased to be our new living room TV after a recent home remodel. We wanted something that was 1080p yet not so large that it cramped our options when it came to the living room layout.

Well all I can say about that plan is.. FAIL. As a keyboard, mouse, headset, etc hardly leave room for classic living room options. In place of my plan we have this giant TV / computer combo crowding into a space I had imagined would have been used for a small breakfast table.

Enough of this whining and I will deal with my wife later. But for now what I wanted to talk about was how Amazing this Samsung LCD is for computer games.

The set is, as I mentioned before is a 1080p 120Hz model, and the computer is running at a resolution of 1920×1080. The picture above is the best I could do with my little Cannon digital camera. Any blur you see is from the motion of the characters on the screen and my cameras / my inability to find a setting that would work well to capture a clear image of the set. So that blur was not on set, it’s just a camera thing.

So of course with the great looking environment Guild Wars has, as do many MMOPRG games, this big monitor just makes it all look better. Thought MMORPG games are not noted for their high frame rate requirements, and for the most part do not require the latest and greatest video card, at no time did I see anything other than a smooth and great picture while playing Guild Wars.

Even when my wife switched over to Call of Duty 4 the display looked great, again no lag or hint of any reason why this Samsung TV could not easily replace any traditional computer LCD that I have ever used.

A quick FYI about the PC we are using. It’s an Intel Core 2 Duo running at 2.4GHz and it’s using an Nvidia 8800GTS with 760mb.

And the set itslef is a : Samsung LN40A650 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV with RED Touch of Color

Click here to see a full size photo of the Samsung 40 Inch and Guild Wars on my Andy Wendt Flickr page.

August 6, 2008 - Posted by | Computer Gaming, Uncategorized | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. That’s a nice monitor you have 🙂

    Ah, a beastmaster 🙂 It is good to see a ranger without a hammer or a scythe nowadays 😛

    Consider putting Rebirth on manual for your heroes because they tend to res with it midbattle due to their high intelligence.

    Comment by Kitsune | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. Samsung LN52A650
    WOW, what a picture!!! This TV rocks! I researched for several months to find “THE” TV, and I finally bit the bullet and bought it in January. I went from a 52″ Sony Projection to this remarkable LCD… I’m telling you, it’s like going from a Ford Pinto to a Bentley… I went to the big box stores to compare pictures, and I could easily tell that this one was the best of them all (size, price, etc.). I think it says a lot that the price has not gone down since I purchased 4 months ago. I will agree with some reviews that the sound is lacking, however, it’s not enough to keep me from regretting the purchase of this TV.. I use a home theater system anyway. Amazon was easy to purchase from and delivery was much faster than I was initially told. You WILL NOT be disappointed with this TV! Cannot wait to watch Ole Miss in HD this football season! GO REBS!

    Comment by LN52A650 | May 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. cool article i like it. thank you

    Comment by samsung ln52a650 review | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Samsung LNB750 HDTV
    Compared to the 22 year old RCA 27″ CRT it replaced, of course it is better. With the cable plugged in the picture is great. It took several days to learn the convention of the menu, but once learned and the contrast and colors adjusted for the room it is in, the picture is clear and easy on the eyes. In fact, the picture is so good the way it is, I do not plan to call the cable company to upgrade to HDTV for another bundle of dollars.

    The B750 has many, many options and things I will never use, but the 150,000:1 contrast ratio was more important to me, which the B750 has over the A650. The $[…] Samsung instant rebate put me over the fence to buy now during the tough economic times. The TV’s speakers are not very good, and they lack bass. I use an outboard amplifier with big Pioneer CS-911’s with six speakers including a 15″ speaker in each box.

    This is probably not the technical review you expect, but even after two years of HDTV homework, I find I know very little about the subject. I just like the picture improvement I am getting on a fairly large screen.

    Comment by M. L. McKenzie | June 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

